Goa University, Taleigao Plateau

Call Us


Email Address



The School of Biological Sciences and Biotechnology (SBSB), Goa University, Goa

The School of Biological S c i e n c e s a n d Biotechnology (SBSB) was established in May, 2022 merging four Disciplines to f o r m t h e S c h o o l o f Biological Sciences and Biotechnology. Goa being a coastal state, in proximity to the Western Ghats, a biodive rsity hot-spot, provides several unique ecosystems for research.

The focus of amalgamation of the four departments was to bring fundamental and biological science Departments under one umbrella to provide the students a platform for interdisciplinary research.

Individually in the past, the departments have evolved in a step wise manner. The Department of Microbiology established in 1974 was a part of the Centre of Post-graduate Instructions and Research (CPIR) of the University of Mumbai in 1985, it became a full-fledged Department of the then newly founded Goa University. The Department of Botany and the Department of Zoology, were both established in 1990, became full-fledged Departments of the Goa University providing students with a opening for the Master’s programme in Botany and Zoology. The Department of Biotechnology, one of the pioneer in Marine Biotechnology (1998) teaching and research in the country, became full-fledged Department of the Goa University in the year 2003. Subsequently, a new M.Sc. and Ph.D. Programme in Biotechnology were established. The Marine Biotechnology programme has been continuously funded by the DBT, Government of India. The four departments in the School of SBSB have come together to multiply their strengths and carry out effective interdisciplinary teaching and research in biological sciences. Equally, an important aspect of biological sciences, namely Home Sciences and Wildlife studies have been integrated to further gain in-depth knowledge of biological sciences

The focus of the school is to provide quality education and research in biological sciences through an integrated approach with a view to create well trained human resource to handle the upcoming challenges in a sustainable manner and to apply the knowledge to the welfare of the society

National Environmental Science Academy (NESA), New Delhi

This ACADEMY is registered by the provisions of Societies Act XXI of 1860 under the Government of Bihar in 1988, presently has its headquarters at 206, Raj Tower-1, Alaknanda Community Centre, New Delhi. The main objective of the Academy is to bring awareness about environmental issues among the masses by arranging lectures, workshops, training programmes, seminars, symposia, conferences, publishing journals, etc

Aims Objectives and Functions of the Academy

* To implements the SDDGs in India by encouraging students, scientists, researchers, academicians and members of the academy for pursuing research on sustainable development.
* To set up Regional/State Chapters fordissemination of information on environment.
* To motivate and prepare young minds on environmental management.
* To organize national/international level conferences, symposia, seminars, meetings and workshops on themes of environmental concerns.
* To publish policy papers, synthesis volumes, proceedings, journals, newsletter, transactions and otherpublications for the promotion of Environmental Sciences.
* To forward the recommendation of scientists /professors to govt. agencies.

Various eminent personalities have graced the Academy as President. The first President of the Academy was Dr. K.C. Bose, Vice-Chancellor of Ranchi University; then Dr. B.S. Attri, Advisor, Ministry of Environment and Forest. Most recently Padmabhushan Dr. S.Z. Qasim was the President of the Academy till June 2015, who is a renowned marine scientist known for his Antarctica mission in 1981-82, he also served as the Secretary at the Deptt. Of Ocean Development (now Ministry of Earth Sciences); Member, Planning Commission and Vice-Chancellor, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi. Currently Prof. Javed Ahmad, (Former Dean, Faculty of Science), Jamia Hamdard, New Delhi, is the President of the Academy.